Introducing . . .

. . .The Late, Great, Potentate!

Not really – that came from a play my church did when I was a small child – my father played the Potentate – complete with pointy-toed slippers and all.  To those unfamiliar with Christian fiction – there is a story of a fourth wise man who came late to the party – and eventually found Jesus at the cross.  I have no idea where the idea to start this post with that came from – but since I have always been late to everything in my life – it fits.

This blog began as a way to keep track of my thoughts throughout a time of transition in my life.  I thought I would write frequently and prolifically as I managed myself through a temporary change in my occupation.  But God had other plans.  I haven’t written frequently, nor managed myself with any great skill in any particular direction – also part of God’s redirection of my life.  But, like the fictitious potentate from the play – God seems to be leaving clues for me to follow in every place I find myself going.

Most often, I find that He is asking me to let go of something that I once used to define myself and to lean more fully on His definition as He gently feeds it to me – one lesson at a time.  Sometimes I have to review lessons I thought I had already learned – but when that happens I find that the lesson reaches deeper into my soul than it ever would have if I had learned it the first time around.

So – introducing myself has become harder to do lately.  The job I obsessed over – gone.  The way I saw my roles in my family – completely changed.  The gifts that I thought I possessed – are still there, but they are being refocused.  The best way to describe myself – is that I am a daughter of the King of Kings.  Still being refined. Still being molded. Still enjoying the fact that His mercies are new every morning.

My goal is to write more frequently – if not as prolifically – as I once hoped, and to offer hope to anyone else who finds themselves always chasing their own ideas when God’s ideas are so much more than enough.

Proverbs 16:9 (NKJV)

A man’s heart plans his way,
But the Lord directs his steps.

6 thoughts on “Introducing . . .

Leave a Reply

