The Path of the Lightning

My day has been an object lesson for me – and it is far from over. 

 Part of the  “sabbatical” is contained within the objective of helping my eldest get into college. Not that it should be difficult – he is brilliant and more responsible than any other young person of his age – and that’s a quote from several others not just my mother bias showing ( even if my mother bias is tempered with my teacher knowledge of what teenagers/ young adults are like).  But he has changed his direction of where he intends to go – a rather last minute occurrence in the grand scheme of scholarship applications and such – and that is where the difficulty comes in. 

So we have written and edited various letters and his resume this morning and still have a mountain of application paperwork to go through. 

So what does that have to do with a learning something?  It has to do with a lesson about respect, action, and the pathways that are taken as processes are established.   Deep stuff, right?

Wisdom comes from the fear (deep and abiding respect) of the Lord – it is an almost quote of a Biblical truth that Christians are fond of repeating for all manner of purposes. But it is the almost nature of it that sometimes makes it fall short of the quoter’s ideal outcome. (God’s word always achieves His purpose – but as humans we all fall short so we should be careful in our quoting.)

The real reference is from the book of Job and is describing the way that God created wisdom itself. 

When he made a decree for the rain, and a way for the lightning of the thunder: Then did he see it, and decree it, and declare it; he prepared it, yea, and searched it out.  And unto man he said, Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom; and to depart from evil is understanding.
Job 28:26-28

The whole passage is an attempt to describe the concrete nature of what most of us see as an abstract idea – wisdom. Where is it? How do we touch it? 
That place, where we encounter wisdom, is inside the processes God put in place. He didn’t just create the land and the precious gems and metals that come from it – or the sea itself. He created the boundaries of the sea – he created the WAY the lightning and thunder interact and the process by which the lightning traveled and released the thunder. And as he created those processes – that is where wisdom was born, where he declared it (spoke it into existence) and sought it out (created the process for it). 

Creation declares His glory – but so much deeper. Anyone can create something – a quilt or an amazing meal. But it is within the process of creation that connections are made, relationships are formed, and we learn right from wrong- not just by definition, but because wrong doesn’t honor the process of creation – the essence of where wisdom exists and we have meaning.

The beauty of life comes because He didn’t just put us here, but because He loved us enough to establish all the processes that make the world work. 

Look into the cracks between the things that exist long enough to see how they work – and your respect for God’s brilliance and amazing love will swell within you.

It is something that is just at the edge of my mental ability to grasp – so God provided the object lesson for me to let me see his intent.

Somewhere in the process of editing his letters my son discovered that he wanted my editing because it brought good to him – and shifted his focus from getting me to edit because I demanded it to getting me to edit because he knows I love him and he can be closer to me when he attends to the process with me. 

God wants the same of me – to attend to the process of my life with him – not just to pray my desperate requests for Him to intervene while I wait in an impatient huff. He wants me. He loves me. He wants me to experience more of Him.  

It’s what He wants for all of us. Follow the path of the lightning today – I dare you.

Leave a Reply

