Something New for Saturday: Infinity Dreams

Blogging 101 has challenged those of us in the course to add a blog role to our sites this week. I wasn’t sure how to go about it.  That is, until one of my classmates Anne, nominated me for the Infinity Dreams Award.

To be perfectly honest, I  have a weird thing about “awards” and wasn’t sure I wanted to “accept” the nomination at first. But I poked around on Google, and discovered that this “award” is more of an invitation to reach out to others in the blogosphere than an actual award. Since that is similar to what we are encouraged to do in this class, I decided to put aside any weirdness and to go for it.  So I want to thank Anne for essentially asking me to share more about who I am.

Now, responding to the nomination requires several things (which I will do shortly), one of which is answering questions. The questions that have been asked got me thinking about why blogging was appealing to me in the first place, and what blogs I followed prior to starting my own. And those are the ones that will become the foundation of my blog role.  I will add others as I get to know more of you. So, thank you Anne, not only for the nomination, but for the ideas as well.

The Rules:

  1. Thank and Follow the blog that nominated you.
  2. Tell us 11 facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the questions set for you.
  4. Nominate 11 other bloggers and set questions for them.

Eleven facts about me:

  1. I love God. But you probably already knew that.
  2. I am a redhead – not a ginger, please don’t get me started. ( I do know that for some of you there is no significant difference in those terms, but there is for me. I will probably write about it one day.)
  3. I can play the piano and the French Horn, though I don’t do either very often.
  4. I have two dogs, Duchess and Tucker, that currently live outside because they refused to stop inviting their friends, the fleas, to come inside with them. (Well, actually, Duchess has always been an outside dog. It’s my Tucker that is the actual culprit.)
  5. I recently learned to cut my own hair thanks to this video on you tube.
  6. I love to bake, but generally don’t like to cook. If you don’t know the difference you must not spend much time in your kitchen.
  7. I have a farm where I feed cows and chickens and collect honey and weave cloth and . . . Oh, wait – that’s just Hay Day.
  8. My three children are scholar athletes, playing a total of 10 varsity sports and maintaining GPAs above 3.6. So – that is more about them than me, but that means I am usually, during school, sitting on some bleachers somewhere or driving someone to or from practice.
  9. I used to do a lot of cool stuff myself – but since I haven’t done most of them since I was – oh – 20 – they really don’t belong on this list. Let’s just say that I have lots of great memories and experiences that are now ready and waiting to provide the illustrations for sharing all that I am learning about life.
  10. I am an educator – it is what God created me to be, and it doesn’t matter whether it is at a school or just in life – I see things that way and express things with a teacher’s heart.
  11. I actually have a Ph. D. I actually finished it. I actually was “hooded” (although it feels at times more like “hoodwinked”). And it isn’t at all what people think. I don’t consider myself better than anyone because of it (which is my way of nudging a friend of mine who struggles with thinking people owe him now that he has one – even though he will probably never see this). For me, I am just incredibly blessed to have had the tremendous opportunity to work with some of the smartest people in my field.

Answering the questions set for me: 

1. Do you have a hobby or hobbies?

Baking. I love to bake. My most recent creation was a tiered cake (Red Velvet on the bottom Pistachio Cream on top) for my eldest’s graduation. Unfortunately, we were all so exited to see everyone who came to celebrate with us that no one remembered to take its picture. Guess I’ll just have to make another one. I love taking pictures, though I would not consider myself a photographer of any sort. I do occasionally knit, crochet, or sew. 

2. Do you come from a large or small family. 

Smallish- just me and my sister. My dad was an only. My mom is one of four. But there are lots of long-living people in my family so I am blessed to know several generations of aunts and uncles and cousins. And then, of course, is the family I married into – most of whom are of the good Catholic tradition of having HUGE families. My first Christmas at Grandma’s was an eye opener – I had never seen so many people in one place that all claimed each other – Wow!

3. What is your favorite cuisine? 

As a child I would answer this jokingly with, “anything that doesn’t eat me first.” And then I met my husband, who has somewhat of a survivalistic nature and who would actually eat bugs if necessary – so I don’t answer that way any more. My grandmother’s spaghetti would have to be at the top of the list though.

4. Where did you grow up?

I am a child of the Deep South, but have lived in Appalachia and in the “Great State of Texas”, though at the time I thought it so much less than great. We moved often, gaining understanding of so many different viewpoints, but not really putting down roots. Granny’s was home and I longed for it when I wasn’t there.

5. If you like writing, what made you aware of it. 

I took a writing class in the sixth grade (we all did-it was required) and my teacher turned in a piece of my writing to a VFW competition. There were nine elementary schools competing and I came in third. It’s the only trophy I ever had. I’ll have to tell the whole story as a post one day. 

6. Where would you like to travel, if a reasonable amount of money were available?

I don’t really enjoy traveling, except through books, but probably somewhere in the UK or New Zealand.

7. What languages can you speak?

  English- obviously. Only a very few words of French, same for Spanish. But I can read Russian and speak a little if I stay in practice.

8. Do you have a pet peeve?

Useless noise (it’s a teacher thing). Although my classroom was full of the sounds of  conversation, tapping and clicking sounds were not welcome. 

Also – nasty ears. Parents, clean your children’s ears – nasty ears mean you haven’t even looked at your child in days. It’s another teacher thing – nasty ears meant no support for homework, and more than likely no concern for anything their child experienced. (This obviously doesn’t include the kids who just came in from sports. There is a difference between dirty and plain old nasty.)

9. Can you touch type, or do you use the hunt and peck method?

Learning to touch type was such a freedom giving experience – finally my fingers could write as fast (well almost) as I could think. My wonky computer is making me rely on my phone for this class, and this one finger typing is literally giving me headaches because I am so tense as I peck out posts and fight with auto-correct (which is better than it used to be).

10. What is your favorite form of entertainment? 

I love to read, but , AHEM, my name is Heather, and I am a TVholic. At the time I am writing, it has been two hours since my last viewing. 

11. How did you find WordPress?

My sister, actually. You can see her latest post here. She is way more fun than I am – I promise. 

Questions for those I am “nominating”/inviting:

  1. What is your favorite quote and why?
  2. Who was your favorite teacher – why was he or she so special?
  3. Would you tell us a joke – one that I could share with my children please?
  4. What battle are you facing?
  5. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
  6. Do you have pets? 
  7. What is your favorite song and why?
  8. What should you be doing right now instead of blogging?
  9. What started your journey into blogging or writing in general?
  10. What tags do you most often use to label your posts?
  11. How does blogging affect your piece of the world?

Almost done!  All that is left now are my “nominations”/invitations.  Now, there are several of you that I am following that I will not include here – that’s because I already know so much about you. I am trying to include people on this list that I have shared comments with, but may not know as well, or with those I follow that I just haven’t gotten to know yet. These are not listed in any order other than the order in which my wonky computer would quit stalling on me in order to copy and paste these links.  Thank you in advance to any and all of you who choose to participate – feel free not to participate as well.

Drumroll please:

http://codedtransmissions.com/

https://peggyricewi.wordpress.com/

http://johannamassey.com/

https://stormyweather.wordpress.com/

promptlings.wordpress.com/

sparksfromacombustiblemind.wordpress.com

kwagner97.wordpress.com

ontheland.wordpress.com

strangevegetables.wordpress.com

mossandwillow.wordpress.com

That leaves one more – and in true teacher fashion, I’m leaving this one as a reader’s choice.  If you would like to participate, please do – just ping back to me so that I know you are joining in.

Enjoy your weekend and I will meet you back at my bench on Monday morning.

6 thoughts on “Something New for Saturday: Infinity Dreams

  1. Good grief! I hit something that sent my reply before I was ready. I was about to say I KNEW I would feel a kinship with you. We have a lot in common, and I look forward to reading your posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

