Extra, Extra! Read All About It!

This post is not part of the current storyline I have going, but is in response to our blogging 101 assignment to write a post inspired by someone else’s blog.

So many of us seem to be touching on similar themes that it can be difficult to pick just one – and like my comment to Thoughts36 would indicate- I have a strong aversion to leaving anyone out.

I must say thank you to all of you who have written about truth or identity lately because those are topics that I am trying to develop too. I can say that I have found some to agree with, and some to disagree with, but all of them have had great thoughts and I have truly enjoyed their writing styles.

Some of you have made me rethink my gardening strategies, some have made me remember beautiful walks I’ve taken in places I used to live.

I wrote down all of your names, but don’t think a list is what was intended by the assignment so please accept the following as a tribute to all of you – though the way to handle it did come from the post Obituary to our Holiday Home.

The following poem (I used the term VERY lightly) reflects my childish notion that our car would feel forlorn without us when we traded it in – and it repeats a phrase I remember getting stuck on as a child – though probably not at the time that we left the car. It is rather contrived, but hopefully you will see my distress at having to leave anyone (or thing) behind.

 And All

I can’t believe I’m leaving you
It isn’t fair and all

You’ve  kept me safe and carried me to school and home and all

And though you bellow deisel smoke
I just don’t mind and all

Your pea green skin that held us in
baby sister and me and all

How could we throw away the hope
that you will last and all

Abandon you? Abandon me!
it seems the same and all

They’re dragging me away you see
I can’t let go and all

Please know it wasn’t my idea
I’ll miss you so and all

3 thoughts on “Extra, Extra! Read All About It!

  1. I have actually wept at losing my faithful steeds (the way I view my cars), much to the chagrin of my husband (who thought it was foolish); and to my own embarrassment at such sentimentality. I have an (perhaps) unhealthy attachment to ‘things’ and cars have played such an important role in my life, that I totally ‘get’ your poem. And I think it’s beautiful. Good for you!

    Like

  2. Your farewell to a car was a bit sad. It brought back memories for me. Several years ago I wrote a farewell to my Toyota Tercel named Turry. How I loved that stick shift car! My arthritic knees were giving me more and more trouble, so we made the decision to sell it. After I had total knee replacements in both knees, I thought, “Oh, Turry. I could drive you now that my knees work again.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

